View Cart0 items / $0.00 CAD
Our Little Bookshop

Anne Patton


Since retiring as an elementary school teacher, Anne has published eleven books for children. Her first five books are part of the Scholastic reading program, Literacy Place for the Early Years. Next Anne collaborated with her friend Wilfred Burton to write a trilogy about a M├ętis boy who learns to jig: Fiddle Dancer, Dancing in My Bones and Call of the Fiddle.

While teaching in Briercrest, Saskatchewan, Anne met an elderly woman who shared her childhood adventures trekking across untamed prairie as part of the Barr Colony. After retiring, Anne pursued this story and uncovered a treasure trove of archival materials to weave into her writing. Based on the true story of the Holtby family, Anne created a trilogy that pays tribute to the perseverance of the first settlers. These stories feature a ten-year-old girl, named after the real Dorothy, who must offer leadership after other family members lose hope. Full Steam to Canada, Through Flood and Fire and Trial By Winter are offered in this bookshop.

Learn more about Dodie's adventures at

Follow Anne at